Sunday March 21, 2010
NICKI PEDERSEN romped to a well deserved victory on a night of hard fought racing in the inaugural Bob Kilby Memorial meeting.

On a cold, but dry season opener at Blunsdon, Pedersen notched heat wins in all seven races he started and was impeccable throughout.

1st, Nicki Pedersen
2nd, Fredrik Lindgren
3rd, Jason Crump
4th, Krzysztof Kasprzak

Krzysztof Kasprzak 2 3 3 3 3 - - 14
Nicki Pedersen 3 3 3 3 3 - - 15
Morten Risager 0 0 1 2 1 - - 4
Leigh Adams 1 3 3 3 2 - - 12
Tai Woffinden 0 2 1 1 1 - - 5
Seba Ulamek 1 2 2 1 3 - - 9
Simon Stead 2 2 1 2 1 - - 8
Jason Crump 3 1 3 2 2 - - 11
Hans Andersen 1 1 R 2 2 - - 6
Fredrik Lindgren 2 1 2 3 0 - - 8
Chris Harris 0 3 F 1 3 - - 7
Bjarne Pedersen 3 2 2 1 2 - - 10
Thomas H. Jonasson 1 0 D 0 - - - 1
Cory Gathercole 0 0 2 0 0 - - 2
Emil Sayfutdinov 2 1 D 0 1 - - 4
Mads Korneliussen 3 0 1 0 0 - - 4
Jordan Frampton (Res) D - - - - - - 0
Referee: Graham Reeve

Ht 1: N. Pedersen, Kasprzak, Adams, Risager, 65.24
Ht 2: Crump, Stead, Ulamek, Woffinden, 65.39
Ht 3: B. Pedersen, Lindgren, Andersen, Harris, 66.92
Ht 4: Korneliussen, Sayfutdinov, Jonasson, Gathercole (f, rem), 67.24
Ht 5: Kasprzak, Woffinden, Andersen, Jonasson, 66.71
Ht 6: N. Pedersen, Ulamek, Lindgren, Gathercole, 66.80
Ht 7: Harris, Stead, Sayfutdinov, Risager, 66.74
Ht 8: Adams, B. Pedersen, Crump, Korneliussen, 67.30
Ht 9: Kasprzak, Ulamek, Korneliussen, Harris (fell), 66.55
Ht 10: (Awarded) N. Pedersen, B. Pedersen, Woffinden, Sayfutdinov (disq, foul riding), No Time
Ht 11: Crump, Gathercole, Risager, Andersen (ret), 67.36
Ht 12: (Re-Run; Awarded) Adams, Lindgren, Stead, Jonasson (f, disq), No Time
Ht 13: Kasprzak, Stead, B. Pedersen, Gathercole, 66.95
Ht 14: N. Pedersen, Crump, Harris, Jonasson, 66.74
Ht 15: Lindgren, Risager, Woffinden, Korneliussen, 67.11
Ht 16: Adams, Andersen, Ulamek, Sayfutdinov, 67.52
Ht 17: Kasprzak, Crump, Sayfutdinov, Lindgren, 67.14
Ht 18: N. Pedersen, Andersen, Stead, Korneliussen, 67.65
Ht 19: (Re-Run; Awarded) Ulamek, B. Pedersen, Risager, Frampton (f, disq), No Time
Ht 20: Harris, Adams, Woffinden, Gathercole, 67.55
First semi-final: N. Pedersen (r), Crump (y), B. Pedersen (w), Stead (b), 66.83
Second semi-final: Kasprzak (r), Lindgren (w), Adams (b), Ulamek (y), 67.31
Final: N. Pedersen (r), Lindgren (b), Crump (y), Kasprzak (w), 66.90

Programme change:
Ht 19: Frampton replaced Jonasson.

Swindon Speedway’s 2010 season commenced in fine style as host of the World’s best riders descended on Blunsdon for the Bob Kilby Memorial.

On a well prepared race-strip, the talented sixteen rider field treated the Blunsdon faithful to an array of intense action that was competitive throughout.

Prior to tapes-up, a minutes silence was observed impeccably by the large crowd who paused to remember Robins’ legend Bob Kilby.

Back on track, eventual winner Nicki Pedersen was sublime from the outset and showcased a degree of speed that the chasing pack struggled to contend with.

The Dane’s gating ability was razor sharp too and away from the tapes Pedersen exuded a dominance which meant he was rarely troubled by an opposing rider. It was a thoroughly professional display from the three times World Champion who will be hoping to carry such dominant form into the Grand Prix series which is now just weeks away.

The meeting provided great entertainment throughout and there were plenty of talking points as the evening progressed. The performance of Russian sensation Emil Sayfutdinov certainly set tongues wagging on the Blunsdon terraces. The youngster, whilst unable to amass a sizeable points haul, did serve up bundles of entertainment with his never say die attitude and flamboyant riding style.

On what was his first time on the Abbey Stadium circuit, Sayfutdinov’s utilisation of racing lines was enthralling and his straight line speed, breathtaking.

Elsewhere, Polish International Kryzysztof Kasprzak contributed an impressive performance that saw the Lakeside rider notch an impressive fourteen point score from his five qualifying rides. Kasprzak was sharp from the tapes and possessed good race-pace throughout and his eventual fourth placed finish was well deserved.

Current World Champion Jason Crump served up a characteristically gutsy display which showcased Australian’s trademark Blunsdon track craft. Meanwhile, Robins’ skipper Leigh Adams secured a route to the semi-final stages, but despite a spirited effort was unable to secure a berth in the meeting final.

Fellow 2010 Robins’ squad members Simon Stead, Morten Risager, Cory Gathercole and Thomas H. Jonasson all experienced various levels of success. Stead was in contention from the outset and the popular Brit will have been pleased to have reached the semi-final stages. Morten Risager’s four point haul wasn’t indicative of the Dane’s solid overall contribution, whilst Gathercole and Jonasson were certainly not far off the pace set by the front-runners.

Swedish youngster Freddie Lindgren enjoyed a productive evening, the Wolverhampton rider came alive in the latter stages and briefly led the meeting final when he dived underneath Nicki Pedersen on the opening lap. Pedersen quickly re-passed Lindgren to claim victory and conclude what had been a memorable twenty-three heats of action.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter