Wednesday August 03, 2011
MUCH-IMPROVED Swindon gained a thoroughly deserved point after a great comeback effort at play-off chasing King’s Lynn on Wednesday.

Polish youngster Maciej Janowski put up a brilliant display as he dropped just one point from five rides, and whilst there were inconsistencies elsewhere it was also a night in which virtually everyone made a meaningful contribution.

Robins didn’t get off to the best of starts and found themselves ten points down after Heat 6, not helped by a fall for Nicolai Klindt in his first outing when he was contesting the lead with Niels-Kristian Iversen.

But they got straight back into contention with a big 8-1 in Heat 7, taking advantage of Iversen being handicapped 15metres after failing to beat the time allowance, with Filip Sitera falling on turn one to allow Janowski and Simon Stead to go clear.

Tomas Topinka and Lasse Bjerre put the Stars back in control with maximum points in Heat 8, and the Robins went into the final four heats nine adrift – needing to cut the gap to less than seven to gain a league point.

Those hopes were raised dramatically when new signing Sergey Darkin superbly combined with Janowski for a 5-1 in Heat 12, and Scott Nicholls and Klindt managed to keep Iversen at he back in the next race with Nicholls hunting down Kenneth Bjerre in a bid to take the lead.

A 4-2 to King’s Lynn in Heat 14 saw Mads Korneliussen just get the better of Stead, and that meant the Robins needed an advantage from the last race with the Stars having the senior Bjerre unbeaten at that stage.

But Swindon got what they required and more with a sensational turn two move from both Nicholls and Janowski to move inside Bjerre, and the Dane was able to make no impression – as the Robins secured a point which should do wonders for their confidence ahead of Thursday’s home clash with Peterborough.

KING’S LYNN 48: Kenneth Bjerre 13, Mads Korneliussen 8, Niels-Kristian Iversen 7, Lasse Bjerre 6+2, Tomas Topinka 6+1, Olly Allen 4+1, Filip Sitera 4.

SWINDON 45: Maciej Janowski 16+1, Scott Nicholls 9, Simon Stead 5+1, Sergey Darkin 5+1, Jesper B Monberg 4+1, Nicolai Klindt 4+1, Cory Gathercole 2+1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter