Sunday March 18, 2012
BIRMINGHAM’S new No.1 Bjarne Pedersen was victorious in Sunday’s season-opening Bob Kilby Memorial Trophy at the Abbey Stadium.

Pedersen got the better of two of his fellow countrymen in the Final, with Swindon’s winter signing Hans Andersen having to settle for his second runners-up position in individual meetings over the weekend, having also finished second in Friday’s Brandonapolis at Coventry.

Ex-Robins man Matej Zagar picked up third place with Nicki Pedersen retiring in the Final.
Conditions were tricky at times but the full 23-heat programme was completed, and there were some encouraging signs for Swindon’s other representatives.

Simon Stead recovered from a slow start to post wins in his last two rides, and both Peter Kildemand and Nick Morris had their moments against a field of largely far more experienced riders.

Co-promoter Alun Rossiter said: “We were lucky to get the meeting on really with the drizzle and rain, and the referee did a great job to push it through and make sure we had all the heats.

“Credit to the riders as well, they all got stuck in and kept going, and I’m pleased to have the first meeting out of the way. We can now look forward to Somerset’s visit on Thursday.”

SCORES: Hans Andersen 11, Nicki Pedersen 11, Bjarne Pedersen 11, Matej Zagar 10, Ryan Fisher 9, Chris Harris 9, Lee Richardson 8, Charlie Gjedde 8, Simon Stead 7, Peter Kildemand 7, Troy Batchelor 6, Adam Shields 5, Nick Morris 5, Mads Korneliussen 5, Sebastian Ulamek 4, Nicolai Klindt 3, Darryl Ritchings (res) 0.

FINAL: B.Pedersen, Andersen, Zagar, N.Pedersen.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter