Friday April 18, 2014
SWINDON allowed a 10-point lead to slip from their grasp as they went down to a second defeat on a day to forget.

The Robins were eventually pipped 47-45 by reigning champions Poole in the second instalment of their Elite Shield/Elite League rivalry at the Abbey Stadium last night (Good Friday).

It meant the silverware, as well as six precious league points, headed to the South coast even though Swindon’s salvage operation on home shale - which followed a heavy 56-34 lunchtime defeat at Wimborne Road – had appeared to be going to plan.

Reserve guest Benji Compton starred in two of the three 5-1s the Robins slammed in during the opening seven races to power 26-16 ahead.

But that was as good as it got for Alun Rossiter’s side as a successful tactical ride paved the way for Poole to turn the contest around.

Josh Grajczonek was successful in his double-points mission in heat eight after partner Przemek Pawlicki had led the way for much of a race which ended in an 8-1.

A retirement for Compton provided another setback as the Pirates plundered a 5-1 in the second reserves’ battle of the night in heat nine to edge ahead and Nicolai Klindt then packed up as the visitors pulled further clear with a 4-2 in heat 10.

Aussie aces Troy Batchelor and Nick Morris claimed a 5-1 over former world champion Chris Holder in heat 11 to sneak Swindon back into a single-point lead, but three successive race advantages put Poole in pole position.

Simon Gustafsson tumbled out of the initial staging of heat 14 before Pirates reserve Lee Smart hit the deck in the re-run. Vaclav Milik got the better of Compton when the race was finally completed at the third attempt.

It meant big-guns Batchelor and Peter Kildemand had to grab a 5-1 in the finale to snatch a draw, but the Dane was picked off by Pawlicki as Swindon had to settle for a 4-2.

The Robins return to action when they entertain Eastbourne on Thursday (April 24).

SWINDON: Troy Batchelor 12, Peter Kildemand 10, Benji Compton 7+1, Nick Morris 6+3, Nicolai Klindt 5, Dan Greenwood 3+1, Simon Gustafsson 2.

POOLE: Josh Grajczonek 13, Przemyslaw Pawlicki 9+1, Chris Holder 8, Maciej Janowski 5, Stefan Nielsen 5, Lee Smart 4, Vaclav Milik 3.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter