Monday August 11, 2014
A HIGH-SCORING display from reserve star Steve Worrall was not enough to prevent Swindon slipping out of the Elite League play-off places tonight (August 11).

A Robins side, missing injured number one Peter Kildemand, were leapfrogged by Eastbourne after going down 53-40 at Arlington Stadium in the first of two clashes between the sides this week. They do battle again at Blunsdon on Thursday (August 14).

Worrall was the star performer in Sussex as he roared to four heat victoriesl – following up triumphs in both reserves’ races by taking the flag in heats 12 and 14 when main-body men Timo Lahti and the previously-unbeaten Joonas Kylmakorpi had no answer to him.

Dakota North provided solid support to top-scorer Worrall with an eight-point shift, but Swindon struggled in other areas.

Team boss Alun Rossiter admitted: “Steve was absolutely outstanding and Dak rode very well, but we carried a few too many passengers.

“There was barely a passing move all night and we just weren’t quite quick enough from the gate on a lot of occasions.

“We’re involved in a four-team fight for the last two places in the play-offs and we certainly need to up our game, starting by taking all three points against Eastbourne on Thursday.”

But the Robins also saw their hopes of a consolation point go begging in that penultimate race as Nick Morris fell after clipping the kerb with his front wheel in the final corner.

Swindon were behind throughout at Arlington, but a successful tactical ride from Troy Batchelor in heat 10 kept them in contention.

They had to settle for 6-3 though as former Eastbourne man Simon Gustafsson was stuck at the back for the first of two last-placed finishes at his former track.

Guest number one Davey Watt suffered the same fate as he managed only three points while Batchelor retired from heat 13 and then brought up the rear in the finale.

Nick Morris was excluded following a heavy spill in heat 11 – the impact of which split open his helmet.

The young Aussie was on the deck again in the final corner of the penultimate race after clipping the kerb. His tumble turned a 4-2 into a shared race and meant Swindon’s hopes of a consolation point were ended.

EASTBOURNE 53: Bjarne Pedersen 12+2, Joonas Kylmakorpi 12, Cameron Woodward 8+1, Timo Lahti 7+1, Mikkel Michelsen 7, Adam Ellis 5, Danny Halsey 2+2.

SWINDON 40: Steve Worrall 13+1, Troy Batchelor 9, Dakota North 8, Simon Gustafsson 4, Davey Watt 3, Nick Morris 2, Nathan Greaves 1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter