Monday May 01, 2017
SWINDON'S stunning start paved the way for a first win at arch rivals Poole since 2009 with the 47-45 success "no shock" to team boss Alun Rossiter.

Robins flew out of the traps on a wet track as four maximum heat advantages in the first seven races saw them lead by a whopping 14 points at Wimborne Road.

That run included the Pirates clawing back two from a tactical ride and in typical fashion, the hosts battled back with three 5-1s in the five races that followed.

It reduced to two points Swindon's advantage going into the last three races before Jason Doyle’s fourth win from as many outings in a heat 13 thriller doubled that cushion.

In-form Frenchman David Bellego, who won his first two races at a canter, then shrugged off the effects of a heat 10 spill to pass James Shanes and keep Robins ahead going into the last-heat decider.

Hans Andersen became the first man to beat Doyle as Pirates fought to the death but Nick Morris, who himself collected three chequered flags, was backed up by the Grand Prix star for a crucial shared heat.

“I said we would be more than capable of winning,” declared Rossiter. “We still need a bit more consistency from some of the boys but a win is a win, especially down here at Poole.

“This has been a bit of a ghost town for us over the years so to get some points off them was pretty good.

“Poole’s secret here is that they normally gate. We knew if we could win that battle they would not pass us and that was what happened.

“It was no shock to me and all of the talk, everybody saying how weak we are, inspires us. The boys keep going out and doing what we know they can.

“We could be doing a bit better. We need a bit more from Emil (Grondal) if I’m totally honest, while Adam (Ellis) is steadily getting there after coming back from injury.”

POOLE 45: Nicolai Klindt 10+1, Hans Andersen 9, Brady Kurtz 8, Jack Holder 7+2, Krzysztof Kasprzak 6+1, Lewis Kerr 4+3, James Shanes 1.

SWINDON 47: Jason Doyle 13+1, Nick Morris 12, David Bellego 8, Adam Ellis 6+2, Zach Wajtknecht 4+1, Bradley Wilson-Dean 3+1, Emil Grondal 1+1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter