Sunday May 05, 2019
SWINDON kick off their home Premiership schedule with a big Bank Holiday clash against Peterborough at the Abbey on Monday (7.30pm).

The CFS Filtration Robins grabbed a useful point from their first league match of the season at Wolverhampton last month, and now have the chance to fully launch their play-off campaign after impressive Supporters’ Cup results so far.

The Panthers are newcomers to the top-flight this season, having last raced at this level in 2013.

So far they have been involved in a series of close home matches but they have found life tougher on the road with two defeats at Belle Vue.

The match features the return of several former Robins riders in the Peterborough ranks, although their time at Blunsdon was naturally all on the old circuit.

Panthers captain Hans Andersen led the Robins to the Elite League title in 2012, and Bradley Wilson-Dean was a member of the victorious squad two years ago.

Wilson-Dean and Aaron Summers form a powerful reserve combination for the visitors, who were rocked on the eve of the season by the collapse of their signing of former British Champion Craig Cook.

The Swindon side is at full strength with David Lampart back after missing last Monday’s match at King’s Lynn, and also returns to its conventional riding order following the recent Cup fixtures.

Boss Alun Rossiter said: “I’ve been very happy with the majority of our performances so far, but there will be no under-estimating Peterborough ahead of this meeting.

“The strength of their reserves shows how tough it could be and there will be a lot of their riders wanting to come back here and put on a show.

“But we’re looking forward to getting back on our own track, which is only going to get better and better, and hopefully we’ll get another big Bank Holiday crowd to cheer the boys on.”

Robins fans are reminded that two-for-one admission applies for the meeting but only for tickets purchased in advance of raceday from Normal admission prices apply on Monday.

SWINDON: Jason Doyle, Dawid Lampart, Tobiasz Musielak, Adam Ellis, Troy Batchelor, Zach Wajtknecht, James Shanes.
PETERBOROUGH: Hans Andersen, Lasse Bjerre, Ben Barker, Charles Wright, Rohan Tungate, Aaron Summers, Bradley Wilson-Dean.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter